What’s a Self-Respecting Pixie to do?

Pixies. These are supposed to be mythical creatures of ancient folklore. Are they from Cornwall? Britain? Sweden? Some tell me they have Germanic or Scandinavian origin. Who knows? Are they related to the Fae? Or the tiny demon Tommynackers or Scottish Brownies? Are they related to the Leprechaun? Are they part Sprite? Or maybe they are just memories of the aboriginal spirits at the building of Stonehenge?

I’ve heard stories that Pixies love pretty things and like to steal your jewelry or hair combs, but I always thought that was just something to take the suspicion off my younger sister. My grandmother, a fine woman of Polish descent, used to tell me there was a Pixie in the house if things fell off the counter. Never mind that I didn’t put it securely on the counter, it wasn’t my fault, it was the Pixie’s. In fact, even if I did do something wrong, she always blamed the Pixies. Pixies loved to create mischief and I really loved my grandmother!

Enter … FICTION. This is what I love most about fiction because in truth, fiction writers care less about what history tells us and more about what our grandmothers said.

Between what my grandmother told me and my imagination, I see Pixies as mischievous sexual dynamos. Creatures that are so damn pretty and attractive they can get away with anything, even murder. Think Hollywood, think furs and diamonds and Elizabeth Taylor. Think Marilyn Monroe! These are gorgeous creatures that cause havoc just by walking by. When I write a Pixie into a story, he or she is oozing misbehavior. The word Tomfoolery comes from a famous Swedish Pixie named Tom Fool who was so sexy, hundreds of women in one village alone left their husbands just to get a few moments alone with him. Seriously. Well, not really, but my fictitious Pixies are that kind of powerful.

They like to cause trouble, but they also have a job to do, just like everything else in the universe. See in my books, Pixie have, throughout all time, been the creatures you want to seek out to help find lost things or people. Misplaced your queen? Find a Pixie, and if s/he isn’t currently entangled in some amorous activity, your queen will be found and returned to you … minus a few jewels, of course. Not only does a Pixie deserve payment, they also love to snarf sparkly things.  And don’t even think about accusing them of theft. You never want to come face to face with a pissed off Pixie!

Well, those are my Pixie thoughts. What are yours? Have you read something that supports or contradicts my ideas? If so, I’d LOVE to hear them!

Vampire Explored is a blog by Deborah Riley-Magnus, author of the Twice-Baked Vampire Series. Book 1, Cold in California

Cold in California cover, lg

COLD IN CALIFORNIA

 

4 responses to “What’s a Self-Respecting Pixie to do?

  1. I wanted desperately to be a Pixie in the brownies but I was a Sprite. The Pixies had all the fun!! So even then, they were true to myth!

    • Thanks Gabrielle! Seriously sexy, I mean, when I think about male pixies, I never think of silly green hats and tights, I think of … Brad Pitt, Antonio Bandaras, Russell Crowe. Playful sexy. Confusing sexy. POWERFUL SEXY, LOL!

      Deb

Leave a Reply

