Archive for October 6, 2011

Author Kari Thomas … Sexy Paranormal Cop in the House!

Posted in Author Interviews with tags , , , , , on October 6, 2011 by Deborah Riley-Magnus

Today we’re talking with Kari Thomas, a multi published author writing in the Paranormal Romance genre. She’s also a Freelance Editor and a Reviewer for several major publishing houses.

Vampire Explored: First of all, I’d like to welcome you to Vampire Explored. Tell us a little about yourself. Tell us about your background.

Ms. Thomas: THANKS so much for having me here, Deborah. I love visiting your Blog. I live in the Southwest but I’m originally from Florida. Every time I get homesick I just remind myself about the hurricanes – and I begin to appreciate the desert all over again! I’m a multi published author and I love writing in the Paranormal Romance genre.

VE: Who are your favorite authors?

Ms. Thomas: OMG, too many to name! A few off the top of my head are Christine Feehan, Lora Leigh, Lori Foster, Shannon McKenna, and the list goes on! There are so MANY great authors out there and as a confessed Book-A-Holic I’ve probably read all of them!

VE: You write Paranormal Romance with a big focus on shape-shifters. What attracts you to the paranormal subgenre?

Ms. Thomas: I love the limitless possibilities I can create in the paranormal world. You can make up your own rules.  As someone with a very active imagination, it helps having the ‘no rules’ field! And I love shapeshifters! How sexy can a guy get when he shows not only his all-too-male side of his nature BUT also his primal side?

VE: Does the way you personally look at life reflect in your writing style?

Ms. Thomas: I think so. I believe Love is the greatest gift of all, and I try to make sure that comes across in my books. There may be sacrifices, losses, heartache, but Love does triumph no matter what. I’m a firm believer in that.

VE: What concepts or situations about your books make them so unique?

Ms. Thomas: I’ve been told that my characters are all unique and that the emotional aspects of my stories are unforgettable. My second book, Her Heart His Soul had a very unique hero. Drake is half Angel and half Demon. When this book came out, there weren’t alot of “angel hero” stories out there, so it was something new. I try to make sure that each of my characters is different from the norm in the paranormal genre.

VE: Tell us about your most recent release, Sloan’s Witch. What was your inspiration for this book?

Ms. Thomas: The characters are from my last book, Spell-Kissed. Sloan is the brother of the hero in “Spell-Kissed”, and Kassidy is the witch they met in the parallel world they transported to. I had so many readers asking for Sloan and Kassidy’s love story — but I couldn’t fit a full-length book into my schedule so I decided to do a Short. Since it turned out to be under 7,000 words I decided to Self Publish it.

VE: What is your favorite scene from the book and why?

Ms. Thomas: I love the part where Sloan is fighting his decision to keep Kassidy out of his life.  Poor Sloan is trying to be tough and make the sacrifice to let Kassidy return to her own world — and it shows his vulnerable side as well as his tough side. And the beginning is a favorite scene too –it really sets the atmosphere for the entire story.

VE: Would you like to share an excerpt with our readers?

Ms. Thomas:     

“Well, if that’s what it takes,” Sloan said in a near growl, “Then we have to think of another way.”

         Kassidy choked on the rising emotion in her throat. She jerked her head up and their gazes once again locked. His blue eyes were dark with an emotion she was afraid to try and decipher. Her entire body pulsed in a purely feminine reaction and she tried unsuccessfully to repress it. She was so attuned to this man she knew instantly when he sensed her reaction. His eyes narrowed, a gleam of heat shining, and his sensual mouth curved into a tiny smile. She nearly lost her breath. All this time of being around him and she was just now realizing that he might have feelings for her…just as she did for him. It was too much to take in, especially with the threat now facing them.

         “Maybe I can call on the powers of my ancestors,” Briana suggested.

         Hunter immediately shook his head. “I’d rather you didn’t do any spells, sweetheart. We’re in enough trouble right now.”

         Briana huffed at him. “Sloan can be my anchor. I’ll be fine. What could go wrong?”

         “Hunter beating the crap out of me for touching you again,” Sloan muttered. “What are our other options? Can this thing be destroyed?”

         Kassidy shook her head. “I don’t think so. It’s already ‘dead’, being from the afterlife. It’s almost as though it’s ‘death personified’; you saw what it did to the garden.”

         “Why the garden?” Sloan stood up to pace, his ‘cop mode’ in full force. “Was that particularly malicious or the garden just happen to be there?”

         “That’s right. When Sloan and I first saw it, it was actually just hovering in front of the garden gate. Almost as if it was hesitating. Then, it went in and the destruction started. That has to mean something.” Hunter joined his brother in the pacing.

         “Talking to this thing is out of the question, right?” Sloan glanced at Kassidy.

         “I’ve never got close. It’s been terrifying enough just knowing it was my shadow every moment.” She couldn’t even begin to tell them about all the horrifying moments she watched the shade’s actions knowing she couldn’t do a thing about it.

         Sloan glanced out at the approaching evening. “Where does it go when it’s not right on your heels?”

         Kassidy couldn’t look at them. “Actually, it’s here. It just goes invisible when it’s not ‘death touching’ something…or someone.”

VE: Tell us a little about your other books.

Ms. Thomas: TEMPTATION UNLEASHED was my first baby. The hero is a Cougar Shapeshifter and falls in love with his enemy —a witch. They share a precious niece who is half shifter and half witch and both of them want custody. HUNTED MATE has a hero who is a Lion Shifter and is given the task of protecting the intended mate of a wolf prince. He falls in love with her, but knows he has to hand her over to the prince. HER HEART HIS SOUL has an half Angel, half Demon who fights both sides of his nature, knowing that he can never have the woman he loves. PREY FOR THE WOLF has a too-sexy, very Alpha Wolf Shifter who sets his prey sites on his brother’s Fiancé.  SEDUCING THE HERO has a human hero who takes on the task of protecting a witch while a stalker tries to kill her. This one has a lot of humor. SPELL-KISSED has a human hero too, a cop who doesn’t believe in witches until he falls in love with one. UNDER A SHIFTER’S MOON is my favorite, the “Book-of-my-Heart” story. Alpah Jaguar Shifter Lyon has to make a decision that will either destroy his entire Pride –or cause him to lose the woman he knows is his Truemate.  Either choice will cost Kitlene her life. This one is full of emotional tension as well as non stop sexual tension and readers have said it’s a “roller coaster ride” that they would read over again. My last book, SURRENDER HER TOUCH is due out Dec 7. I don’t have the Cover yet, but should have it updated to my site soon. The hero in this one is different from my other Shifters, as he is a Dragon Shapeshifter. I wanted to try something different and I’m hoping my readers will love Slade as much as I do.

VE: Finally… If you could tell us one thing about Paranormal Romance genre that makes your mind spin with ideas, what would that be?

Ms. Thomas: NO rules! LOL!

Thanks so much for chatting with us, KAri! And thank you for the FREE copy of your book for us to giveaway!

All you need to do for a chance to win a FREE copy of Sloan’s Witch by Kari Thomas is post a comment. A winner will be chosen by Wednesday, October 12, 2011. Good luck everyone!

Kari’s Website Link:

www.authorkari.com

Link to where Kari’s book(s) can be purchased:

Amazon Kindle: http://www.amazon.com/Sloans-Witch-ebook/dp/B005I6BJYW/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1313855869&sr=8-1

Barnes and Noble Nook: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/books/1105160529?ean=2940013072404&itm=1&usri=sloan%2bs%2bwitch

Smashwords: https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/82702  

ARe: https://www.allromanceebooks.com/product-sloan039switch-599464-172.html

 

Vampire Explored is a blog by Deborah Riley-Magnus, author of “Cold in California”, first in the Twice-Baked Vampire Series!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,671 other followers